First licensed practitioners confirmed to award Community Shares Standard Mark

9th Jun 2015

The CSU is delighted to announce its first five licensed practitioners who will be responsible for awarding the new Community Shares Standard Mark once it launches at FC United on June 30th.

The Unit promotes high standards of voluntary regulation and the Mark is awarded to those following good practice in issuing community shares. However rather than awarded the mark directly, the CSU is training and assessing a series of practitioners which once assessed, are licensed to award the Standard Mark on the Unit’s behalf. Currently there are over 40 individuals working towards becoming licensed practitioners, and the first five practitioners are now fully licensed and on hand to review societies’ offers so they can use the Standard Mark  

We are thrilled with the first cohort, all of which are particularly experienced in community share offers. Many are experts in a particular trade sector, knowledgeable about society law, or experienced community engagement practitioners. Societies will be able to find out more about these practitioners from June 30th when a new directory will be published online, detailing the services they provide.

Whatever their background, experience and expertise, they are all committed to the principle of independent peer review, and value the contribution a second opinion can bring to the development of high quality share offers.

The first five licensed practitioners are:

  • Jo Bird, Co-operative Business Consultants and Co-operative Alternatives NI
  • Dave Boyle, The Community Shares Company
  • Helen Melia,  Melia Business Solutions
  • Mark Simmonds, Co-op Culture
  • Hilary Subury, CDA (Brave Ltd)

For more information about Community Shares and the Standard Mark – visit the Community Shares website. To launch a community shares offer visit Microgenius

And join us in Manchester on 30 June to celebrate the launch of the Community Shares Standard Mark and see FC United’s fantastic new ground – book your place